Christmas Nostalgia

Some of the most joyous moments of my life were Christmas mornings when my daughter was young.  The magic of Santa, the joy on her face when she saw her gifts.

It is my new tradition, well it has been since I have been an autonomous woman these past few years, to stay at my daughters on Christmas eve, she is gone to her Family up north.  To watch the lights in Portland, watch the sunset and wake to a quiet home alone.   The evening is a sad one.  It is so different from the days of her youth, when our adopted families (the Kitchen Witches and the kids) would gather and celebrate.

I no longer celebrate  Christmas, I celebrate Yule, but the traditions of my childhood and my daughter’s childhood still bring me great joy.

Today will be spent with family.

Tomorrow, Yuletide continues as we head towards the New Year and all that it will bring.

Leave a Reply

